Bread Republic

I wouldn’t call Bread Republic a “hidden gem.” Those who should be “in the know” seem to know its flavors and charms well. Located on Hamra Street around the corner in an alley, Bread Republic livens a broad cobblestone ally with good food, good drinks, and pleasant service.

To my knowledge, Bread Republic has no indoor seating. Tables dot the ally while a door leads into a bakery where a variety of bread is made. I assume beyond that lays the kitchen. Two wine coolers chill a variety of red and white, and they also offer a selection of unique cocktails. Their coffee is good, as are their lemonades and juices.

I have visited Bread Republic for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and so far have been impressed by their purist approach to food- simple dishes featuring well seasoned, fresh quality ingredients . The breakfast menu features tasty omelets, some featuring unique Lebanese ingredients such as akoub, a spiny thistle well written about in a new favorite blog of mine.

I also enjoy a variety of their brushetta dishes. My favorite is a crusty toast served with a thick layer of lebneh (strained yogurt that has a rich cheesy feel) piled high with fresh oregano. I also was delighted by an arugula, prosciutto and shaved parmesan plate. This evening for dinner I had the pleasure of falling in love with a risotto topped with delicious wild mushrooms and thick slices of artichoke and the delicate taste of fresh lemon.

I have no doubts that Bread Republics free wireless, lovely breezy location and consistently good, satisfying food will keep luring me in on my way home…

About kimberlyrose

Former defense policy analyst, current housing project coordinator, and full time birder, outdoor adventurer, fisherwoman and hunter.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread Republic

  1. Jim says:

    >I just fell in love with Clotilde Dusoulier

  2. Kimberly says:

    >I think I did too.

Leave a Reply

